I’m Thinking of Buying a Pitchfork

Yes, the title pretty much says it all. It’s about the right time for me to do a complete flip of my compost pile (putting the newest material on the inside to heat up and decompose), which pretty much means buying a pitchfork. Still, Something about it seems so silly, I am having trouble bringing myself to do it. I mean, really, a pitchfork? How… serfish.

Maybe I am just more of a city boy then I give myself credit for, because I know perfectly well that pitchforks are very good at what they do and many people use them. Still, it seems strange.

Nonetheless, tomorrow I will probably finish collecting biomass (read: weeding the garden) and then turn over the whole compost pile with my brand new pitchfork. So, wish me luck! I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

