To Advertise Or Not To Advertise

One the one hand, as everyone knows, money is money, even if it adds up very slowly. On the other hand, advertising is selling out, isn’t it?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about whether or not I should try to advertise on the site. The potential benefits are slim, but they do exist. I am also familiar with sites that I hesitate to go to because of the overwhelming number of ads.

Thus far, the closest I have come is the referral links for prosper at right, which can earn me a small amount if you use them to sign up. However, I did so because I approve of the product, and with a stern warning about it’s use. I’ve said repeatedly that I hope no one would use Prosper just for me, but instead only show me a little love if they had decided to join anyway. And so far, my warnings have worked. No one has used the links.

Which I am fine with. This blog is a hobby, not a job, and I would be perfectly content never being paid for it. But I would be content being paid for it too. So I have returned several times, to the question of advertising. At last, I think I have settled on a compromise.

Google adsense ads will appear below Craigslist’s Worst posts, but not any of the others. Statistically, this makes up most of the blog’s hits anyway, and I hope this will not bother any of my more regular readers. If it does, I hope they’ll be vocal about it. I care more about you all then I do about the quarter per 1,000 impressions.

Now, I also have to point out, my blog host is not really set up for ads, so, if you see ads at the bottom of this post, it works! And if not, well, this was all a moot point anyway.

Goodnight!

(Ed: Well, poo...)

Leave a Reply

