CRAIGSLIST’S WORST Investigates: “Can you fix them? – $1”

I realized today that I had forgotten to post anything last night (eek), so today, when an interesting ad came up on Craigslist, I felt compelled to go a step further then usual for you guys, and learned that sometimes I really need to bite my tongue. But I am getting ahead of myself. First, the ad, which, alone, is not so strange.

I am looking for someone to tune up 2 leaf blowers.
1 is a hand held craftsman that I can’t start.
1 is a echo back pack blower that starts but doesn’t run to its full patentual.
I am willing to do whatever you want to get at least 1 running correct.
I will mow your lawn, clean, give you a massage, whatever it takes to get them fixed.
email me soon. thanks.

Now, as I said, alone this is not so strange. But I noticed something here that has been bugging me about Craigslist. Why does every person in the whole world know how to give bartering-worthy massages? So I bit the bullet and asked.

Hi,

I’m not sure I can help with the leaf blowers but I had a question about your
ad. It seems like everyone on craigslist can give massages worthy of being
bartered. Is massaging a big hobby these days or is it slang for something
erotic?

Thanks,
-Curious

Now, I’m sure some of you see where this is going, but don’t jump ahead yet. Honestly, I was expecting an angry e-mail from a Hartford area masseus (pillar of the community and what not), or maybe even nothing at all. Insted, in under ten minutes…

IT COULD BE EROTIC. 🙂

Perhaps needless to say, the guy (yes, I’m sure it’s a guy, from the e-mail, which I am not releasing out of kindness) seems to have misunderstood my intent. So, call me rude, but I did the only thing I could. I responded one more time, and I think my response sums up my reaction to the whole thing.

I’m sorry I asked.

One Response to “CRAIGSLIST’S WORST Investigates: “Can you fix them? – $1””

  1. No One Says:

    ok that was clasic

Leave a Reply

