Rockets And Opaque Windows

So, two random little tidbits that have nothing to do with each other.

First, the rockets. About four or five years ago, I was really into model rockets. This little obsession lasted all of about three rockets. It was good fun while it lasted, though. The ones I got to launch worked quite well (one landed on the roof of my elementary school, one drifted into a tree, and the third did a rather spectacular – and intentional, I might add – nosedive into the dirt). However, shortly before the rest could go up (most of the next ones being ones I had designed myself), I lost interest in it and never really finished. All that is left is my memory of my plans for those second-gen rockets and one rocket (the nose diver) which has been saved from the landfill because my mom and I built it together. Our joint sentimentality is stronger then our joint cleaning urges, apparently.

As for the opaque windows, the problem is, our condo association is repainting, and while our house is being painted, all the windows are covered. It’s a disconcerting feeling, which is strange, considering I am never that cognizant of checking out the windows frequently. Still, it feels a bit spooky being in a house with no means of checking the perimeter, so to speak. Who knows? Their could be ninjas. Or pirates.

If by this point you’re curious why I’m writing about this, well, the fault lies with my mom. I asked what to write about and she said, “Rockets, or, the windows being blocked.” There you go, both. Unrelated and unintentional. If you believe there’s no such thing as coincidence though, that cosmic forces compel such things to happen, maybe it makes sense the two topics would come up. Irrational fear of lost interests has been a bit of a problem for me lately.

Looking back, the rockets are far from the only thing which has been left behind. I’m not heartbroken, really – I learned a great deal from each hobby I briefly loved and then forgot. Still, It’s hard not to wonder what else will be that way. My commitment to financial health? My more recent dedication to a greener lifestyle? My very recent desire to build wind turbines and solar panel arrays? (Okay, losing the last one would at least make a lot of people worry less about me getting electrocuted.)

Or maybe this blog, for as much as I enjoy writing in it now. Dropping it would hardly be out of character for me.

I’m trying not to think about it though. If any or all of those things fall by the wayside, something new will replace them, and I wont miss them all that much. I’ll learn from them and move on. Or, perhaps, they will become a lasting part of my life. For now, I just don’t want to let the fear ruin the experience, so I’m going to keep moving forward, one misstep at a time.

Leave a Reply

