Well… Again

It would seem all I need to do is write a short emo post once in a while and everyone reads the blog. Sixteen hits yesterday. Weird.

Anyway, nothing emo about today! I got my mini VAWT (Vertical Axis Wind Turbine) kit from Ed Lenz today. It went together beautifully, even with my rather shoddy construction skills. It’s not quite finished; tomorrow I put together the base and wire it up to a few LEDs to make sure it actually is working right, but everything looks good. The stator (the piece wound in copper coil in the generator) was the most difficult part, and with the pre-slotted plastic piece, that was even pretty easy once I got the hang of it.

The kit isn’t going to win any prizes soon for power output, but as a way to learn the ropes a bit and experiment it works out pretty well. Maybe a  slightly bigger one is in my future, if I can think of something worth building it for. Perhaps next summer, instead.

Updates and maybe some pictures tomorrow. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

