If Democracy Doesn’t Feel Good, You’re Doing It Wrong

So, the big news in my life today is that, after a fun day at the beach, I was stranded with Moi, her father, and  her sister for four hours while we waited for a tow truck that was hung up at a major, possibly fatal accident four miles away. The cause of our car’s failure is yet to be determined.

However, something caught my attention that bears mentioning instead. Friends of mine would not be wrong if they told you I have spoken highly of Rudy Guiliani before. Based on his 9/11 performance and my vague (very vague) understanding of his previous contributions to New York City, I may have said that I would accept him failing a good democratic candidate in ’08. Well, all I can say is, I am glad I never put it in writing.

Thanks to Boing Boing, I was made aware of Guiliani’s… let’s call them “unique” views on freedom. A quote from a 1994 speech,

“Freedom is not a concept in which people can do anything they want, be anything they can be. Freedom is about authority. Freedom is about the willingness of every single human being to cede to lawful authority a great deal of discretion about what you do.”

Actually, I’m rather certain that freedom is, exactly, a concept in which people can do anything they want, be anything they can be. Check any dictionary not written by morons and this will be the case. I’ll grant that in America we have decided that one’s freedoms should cease where they begin to impede another’s, and even that this is a hazy, often treacherous ridge to balance on,  “the willingness of every single human being to cede to lawful authority a great deal of discretion about what you do.” is not a ridge that’s even in the same mountain range. I doubt it could be on the same continent.

Guiliani should know that he has lost any chance at my vote. Also, I’d like to put it out there that any candidate who hopes to win, Democrat or Republican, should address as part of their platform undoing the mistakes of the Bush administration, including the reinstatement of basic values like Habeas Corpus for all. With that, I’d like to leave you by reminding you of two basic truths that our forefathers would like us to remember (and if you don’t believe me, just check the first two amendments in the Bill of Rights).

The foremost check on a democratic government
is an educated, vocal, and uncensored populace.

The last, best check on a democratic government
is a well armed populace.

 

Leave a Reply

