A Bloodless Coup, Revisit

A few weeks ago, I wrote about Moi and I’s decision to end our romantic relationship. It has, not surprisingly, been on my mind a lot. I’ve talked to a lot of people about it. Till recently, I’ve told everyone that I am fine.

By and large, this is still true.

That being said, I was recently talking to a friend when I realized that, happy as I am that Moi and I were able to end our relationship peacefully, and happy as I am that we are still friends, I’ve still been hurt. Worse, I’ve been responding to it the wrong way.

I wrote a few days ago about a desire to change my hair.  In that post, I wrote that part of my reason for wanting to change my hair was to, in some sense, mark the end of one period and start another. Come to think of it, I’ve heard that Japanese girls often cut their hair when a relationship ends for the same reason (though, to be fair, I have only heard this referenced in anime, so I invite anyone with better knowledge to correct me). I’ve been thinking about it, though, and I feel like that is a horrible reason to change myself. Really, what difference would it make? Would I feel better? I don’t think so anymore. It seems like cleaning the bathroom to fix the broken water heater; things might look better on the surface, but they are still broken.

I wish I could say that threatening my hair with bleach was all I had done, but I’ve been groping around for change in a lot of places. Luckily, and with gratitude to everyone who has helped, I think I’ve gotten myself on the right course again. There are still a lot of things for me to sort out, but I’m getting there.

And as I said, sorry folks, this writer is remaining a brunette.

Are men brunettes? That sounds wrong somehow.

2 Responses to “A Bloodless Coup, Revisit”

  1. doug Says:

    understood the cleaning the bathroom doesn’t solve the problem, but it is always a good idea to clean the bathroom even if just to get rid of the smell

  2. Zack Says:

    Either your metaphor got a little confused, or you’re saying my hair stinks!

Leave a Reply

