Today I Witnessed A Beautiful Thing

As I was leaving my sociology class on Race, Class, and Gender, I overheard two guys chatting behind me. Their conversation, reproduced below, gave me some hope.

Guy 1: Yeah, I read the first thing, but then I got to the second and i was about how evil white people are too! I mean, come on, I didn’t come to this class to be told how much I suck.

Guy 2: Naw, it’s not that you suck, it’s that you’re cool. [Laughs]

Guy 1: [Laughs] Yeah, well, not from this side.

Guy 2: Well, really, it isn’t that you’re bad, just ignorant!

So why did I find this silly conversation so hopeful? Because the first guy was white and the second guy was black, and nothing said in the class, not even openly discussing the “touchy subject” of race relations, could make that racial distinction matter one bit to them.

I don’t want to be misunderstood when I talk about this class, or about the issues it raises. I am not denying that there are problems in our society, or that they should be addressed; rather, I am saying that the state of “political correctness” and race relations in our society is divisive and counter productive.

For now, though, America’s legacy of racial division will have to take a back seat. I have too much Greek philosophy to worry about.

Leave a Reply

