On Interracial Marriage

So the topic of the day in my Sociology course was interracial marriage and the obstacles standing in its way. I was disappointed by the reading we had last night, which found that white families, when they resist interracial marriages, do so because of a perception that it will be difficult, while African-American families resisted out of a perception of whites as “the enemy.” The article, for the record, was “Navigating Interracial Borders: Black-White Couples and Their Social Worlds” by Erica Chito Childs, from a book by the same name published in 2005. My book is “Race, Class, and Gender: An Anthology, Sixth Edition,” edited by Anderson and Collins. There.

Moving on, I’ve been thinking about it, and I don’t think my family would be upset. They have shown a great deal of acceptance on the part of my romantic interests. So long as I am happy, they are happy.

As for me, I don’t think I would have any problem either. There were times when Moi, whose parents are first generation Argentinian immigrants, and I had big ideological disagreements grounded, in some sense, in our very different cultural backgrounds. At the time, I wondered if it would be easier if I were just back in Wisconsin, surrounded by people who also grew up there.

I’ve come to the conclusion that it wouldn’t. In the first place, it’s boring. I’ve never felt like difference is something to be feared but to be embraced. Moi and I butted heads occasionally (who doesn’t?) but I also picked up a lot of things which have become valuable to me (like the Mate I am drinking right now). Really, though, I can see that the cultural differences are such a minor part of how two people are likely to match up that it’s not worth considering.

Could I find a “nice white girl” to date and marry? Probably. She’d probably be a lot like my roommates girlfriend who, friendly as she is, is lat out not my type. Honestly, I (and I suspect most people) are so far from “racially normal” that it’s a moot point. Within any race there is as much variance as between races. When I find someone whose beliefs and lifestyle fit well with mine, I sure as hell am not going to turn it away because they’re skin is a different color.

So then the question is, what about how “society” will view it? What about the difficult situation I would be putting my children in? I don’t doubt that there are complications in our society. However, I feel that it is more important for my kids to be in a loving, happy household then in a racially homogeneous one. If the person is right, we can make the other problems work.

Now then, go love someone!

2 Responses to “On Interracial Marriage”

  1. Connie Says:

    Ummm, you were only in 4th grade when you left Wisconsin, so I’m not sure you technically grew up there. And I remind you, if there were no racial tensions there, there were plenty of religious ones to make up for it. I suspect that if you were to return to Wisconsin now, you would not feel at home, as you have been radically changed by your experiences here in a racially integrated environment. (And I do love someone – you, you miserable little white-bread cheese-head!)

  2. Momma Says:

    White-bread cheese-head…

    I do love your mother, Zakkun. I do have to agree…within race there is a whole ‘nother variance people rarely consider – the hispanic who knows little to no spanish, the black who grew up in Bel-Air [~cough~Carlton~cough~], the white who grew up in the hood [~cough~Malibu’sMostWanted~cough~] – either way, I do agree. Why give up someone that would make you happy just because they’re a different color? That…would be like Peanut Butter dumping Jelly. And that, my friend, would be a damn shame.

Leave a Reply

