On Meatloaf

I heard this song on the radio tonight – one of my favorites – so I thought I should clear things up, once and for all! “I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Wont Do That)” is not only a good song, but it does explain during the song what it is he wont do! If you don’t understand that, you either haven’t listened long enough or close enough. Let me explain!

Near the end, Meatloaf is joined by a female voice. Their exchange explains everything.

[Girl:] Will you raise me up, will you help me down?
Will you get me right out of this Godforsaken town?
Will you make it all a little less cold?

[Boy:] I can do that! I can do that!

[Girl:] Will you hold me sacred? Will you hold me tight?
Can you colorize my life, I’m so sick of black and white?
Can you make it all a little less old?

[Boy:] I can do that! Oh oh, now I can do that!

[Girl:] Will you make me some magic, with your own two hands?
Can you build an emerald city with these grains of sand?
Can you give me something I can take home?

[Boy:] I can do that! Oh oh now, I can do that!

[Girl:] Will you cater to every fantasy I got?
Will ya hose me down with holy water, if I get too hot?
Will you take me places I’ve never known?

[Boy:] I can do that! Oh oh now, I can do that!

[Girl:] After a while you’ll forget everything
It was a brief interlude and a midsummer night’s fling
And you’ll see that it’s time to move on

[Boy:] I won’t do that! No I won’t do that!

[Girl:] I know the territory, I’ve been around
It’ll all turn to dust and we’ll all fall down
And sooner or later, you’ll be screwing around

[Boy:] I won’t do that! No I won’t do that!

Did you get it? He’ll do anything for love except leave her. Think, “If you really love something let it go.” Are you thinking it? Okay. He wont do it!

And ha! Wikipedia provides even further support, revealing what I admit even I had missed. Every verse contains something he wouldn’t do, easily identified by the sentences which start “I’ll never…” See here, under the Perceived Ambiguity of “that.”

Now listen to the song and go to bed! And don’t complain about it again!

One Response to “On Meatloaf”

  1. Connie Says:

    OMG! Stop with the Wikipedia!!!

Leave a Reply

