Buddhism Minute

So, I think I may have to expand on my little “I want something simple” philosophy from my last post, as it has to be by far the most misunderstood post in the history of the blog. But not today.

I love Google, because sometimes it seems to work very much like any human brain, except it knows everything, so it can follow me on strange little trains of thought and take me places i didn’t know existed. Case and point: I love curing boredom with a dose of Google image searching whatever is on my mind. Tonight, I tried “Buddha,” and thanks to an interesting weeping Buddha statue, I learned the following:

The emotion Buddhists call samvega is hard to translate because it covers three clusters of feelings at once: “the oppressive sense of shock, dismay, and alienation that come with realizing the futility and meaninglessness of life as it’s normally lived; a chastening sense of our own complacency and foolishness in having let ourselves live so blindly; and an anxious sense of urgency in trying to find a way out of the meaningless cycle.” Not being a Buddhist, I can’t say I have any more faith in pasada than in prozac. But I and many people I’ve known have experienced a complex emotion like this one, so it’s interesting to know that this concept has been around for so long.

…which, coincidentally, ties into both the writings of John Zerzen and in a greater sense the attitude I’ve had since mid-summer. Cool!

Leave a Reply

