Perhaps I’ll Take The Job Revisit

A revisit, so soon? I know! It’s precedent setting. My father sent me an… energetically worded e-mail following my last post about college life. I asked him if I could add it up here (I’m all about discussion!) so here it is:

Just to point out a couple of things

If you quit college and get a job you won’t be building savings because you will be making $10.00 an hour and savings building is not done with that salary. You also wouldn’t be going out to dinner or a movie on $10.00 per hour.

If you have a family, you will be working 3 jobs to support them, so your schedule will be really easy: WORK all day.

Finish school, do a good job, and become a professor or what ever else you want and then you will have time and money to do all those things.

Almost nothing (actually, really nothing) in life is free; you need to put in the time (even if it is doing things that don’t make you real happy right now) to be able to get the things in your life the way you want them.

I know it seems impossible right now, but why do you think almost everyone says that their years in school were the best? Because the demands on your time and efforts and schedule only get worse later on

Your quote:

College has it’s set time period – courses are from then to then – but it also leaks into the rest of your life. Readings, homework assignments, movies to watch, photos to take, and always on extremely short notice. No one would put up with this from a job, yet it’s standard in college.

You must be taking drugs or having a breakdown (Ed.- Thanks, Pop), because every job I have ever taken or hired someone for had in its job description “and other duties as assigned” and just so you know that is because 50% of what everyone does in their job is last minute, not planned, and outside of their typical jobs duties. In that way college is the perfect training for a real job.

Well, I disagree in a few points. I think it’s worthwhile to mention that he has some bias that comes from being self employed; the rewards are greater but so are the demands on time. Whenever the business needs him, it needs him. Which could be the sort of work I want to do, it’s true. However, a more normal 9-5, as the name implies, generally falls between the hours of 9 and 5. True, your duties may change. You also may be asked to pull overtime, but you are offered extra pay, whereas in college, credits are credits.

That being said, I clearly must agree that this college thing is worth it, because I’m still here. And will be, for a while! 

6 Responses to “Perhaps I’ll Take The Job Revisit”

  1. Moi Says:

    I’m on your side. While college is worth it, a regular job has its advantages. Particularly the not-invading-your-life part of it. However, some nights you just need to say screw it, and go out for wine, margaritas, and dancing with the girls. 🙂

  2. Zack Says:

    Ha ha, I think that holds true whether you are maintaining a job or in college!

  3. doug Says:

    Actually I have been self employed for 10 years and worked in “a real job” for over 20. (man am I getting old) and I still think your wrong about the 9-5 thing. maybe if you are working at 7-11 or the post office, but most all people I know spend much more than 40 hours a week on a job, and most people I know are salaried and they don;t get over time for that work. Maybe its just the people I know and the kind of jobs I have had but that has been my experience. Controlling their work life and not having it interfere with their personal life is one of the biggest problems people have.

  4. Zack Says:

    You make a good point. I had been thinking largely in terms of piecemeal (not sure that’s the best term) work because that is what my mom has. Salaried work is a different monster. On a related note, I tend to think that salaried work is not such a great idea, from an employer’s standpoint, since it sort of encourages laziness. At least with an hourly wage people have some incentive, besides job security, to put in extra work. Of course, a decent profit sharing program could do the same thing, but a decent profit sharing program is hard to find.

    Is this a good time to point out I’ve been told I would be an awful business owner? Ha ha.

  5. doug Says:

    as long as we are going to argue, why do you think hourly employees have a greater ii ncentive to work than salaried employees. In most cases I think it is just the opposite. There is a saying that work expands or contracts to fill the time available to do it. For an hourly employee who has the ability and desire to work overtime, there is a direct incentive to work slower and less efficiently because it will allow him or her to then work more hours and get paid 1.5 per hour more. This is certainly not an incentive to salaried people.

  6. Zack Says:

    Where I work, I am paid by the hour, but because it is work study, I am typically paid for the full time I am scheduled to work regardless of whether I need all the time or not. In essence, this means I am salaried. However, two different types of situations emerge.

    When my boss is in, I have three hours to work and fixed pay. If I finish my current assignments early, she usually has more work to assign for me, so I have no reason to rush my work. Working harder just means working harder, no other benefit. That’s probably why I have a dislike for salaried work.

    However, days when she is not in, I have jobs to do, but once they’re done, I can scoot and still get the same pay. That… doesn’t really equate to anything, except maybe self employment.

    But I don’t think most people would work overtime all the time for the extra money, because most people don’t like their work that much. And besides, if you slack deliberately, you wont have the job for very long.

Leave a Reply

