On Money, Stuff, And Frustration

I don’t know what’s more alarming about this year so far: The amount of money I’ve spent, or that I’m poised to spend more.

Why have I spent so much? Photo supplies, for one, which was unavoidable. A wacom tablet, secondly, which hopefully will equal more cash in the future (through design work). If that were all, I’d be okay with myself. I’m down a lot of money but doing okay, and the investments make sense. Now my current frustration.

I want to buy a guitar.

This isn’t surprising. My friends and family are no doubt thinking, “Again?” I’ve wanted a guitar many times before, and come very close to actually buying one. However, I never have, for two reasons: I’m not musically inclined at all, and I’m not sure I’ll have the determination to learn. However, I can’t get past the feeling of wanting one, and I have never tried to learn an instrument before, so who knows, maybe I will love it.

I’m starting to feel like it’s something I just need to buy and then only notice when it’s time to move to a new house. There are lots of things like that when you’re trying to be a little frugal: things that you need to buy to teach yourself a lesson. Maybe a guitar is one of those for me (but an expensive one at that). Or maybe not. Maybe it’s a good thing waiting to happen.

Currently, the force most compelling me towards it is the memory of the first (and only) time I held a guitar. Without even knowing what I was doing, I picked it up, strummed it, and it was generous enough to make a beautiful note, perhaps the first one I’ve ever been responsible. That was a good feeling.

So does anyone have thoughts?

-The art student desperately seeking a guitar.

4 Responses to “On Money, Stuff, And Frustration”

  1. Moi Says:

    Get a guitar! 😀

  2. Doug Says:

    Pretty easy — if you want a guitar and you have the money then get the guitar! I might suggest looking for a inexpensive one or even a used one until you know you are really going to like it. Then you can get a better one.

  3. Zack Says:

    You make a good point. A good beginning guitar is about $200, but it would come with everything I’ll need for a while (usually including lessons on dvd, nowadays). I could probably get a used guitar cheaper, but not necessarily with the other stuff.

  4. Connie Says:

    On your other blog recently you posted a list of 10 rules. If I remember correctly, these were your favorite ones:

    1. Find a place you trust and then try trusting it for a while.

    4. Consider everything an experiment.

    9. Be happy whenever you can manage it. Enjoy yourself. It’s lighter than you think.

    So trust yourself, experiment in music, and be happy.

Leave a Reply

